Women and Gender Studies

This encyclopedia focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.

Authored by community-based researchers and academics, the articles in this set treat various aspects of LGBT history, culture, politics, and society in America. Some 550 entries cover workplace movements, Queer Nation, fashion and clothing, coming out and outing, family issues, health care and clinics, and federal law and policy. Also included are more than 200 biographies, 230 photographs, a 400-year chronology of LGBT history, and an appendix of repositories in the United States and Canada.

This collection of 40 essays addresses women's status in various political contexts from medieval times to the present in Europe and North America.

In spite of the sexism that has denied women full active status in their religions, the editor calls this title a "celebration" of the scholarship of recent years. In order to offer a global perspective, contributions were sought from non-Western as well as Western scholars for the 600 signed articles.

Contains ninety-seven alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about women's studies topics, such as abortion, bisexuality, childcare, glass ceiling, nationalism, religion, sex work, and welfare reform.

The coverage brings together for the first time considerable knowledge of men and manhood, focusing on such areas as sexual violence, intimacy, pornography, homophobia, sports, profeminist men, rituals, sexism, and many other important subjects.

The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.

Covers the psychology of women, the psychology of men, and gender differences while discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.

This encyclopedia captures the experiences of women throughout world history and illuminates how they have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. It contains over 1,300 signed articles covering six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society; organizations and movements; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history.