Skip to main content

Paideia 112 Research Unit

Characteristics of Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles are academic essays like the one you read by Robert Finley and Natalie Zemon Davis on The Return of Martin Guerre. Scholarly articles:

  • are written by and for academics and professionals in scholarly language specific to their profession or field
  • include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article
  • appear in academic journals or book-length collections of scholarly essays.

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article in HTML or .pdf format (this displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.
  • Abstract: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.) and a brief summary of the article's content.
  • Index: Includes only the article’s citation information.

Recommended Databases for Paideia

Preus Library has access to approximately 50 databases and indexes that provide access to articles. The broad-based databases listed below are good starting points for scholarly article searches because they cover a wide range of topics, are focused on scholarly content, and contain full text for many topics. Click on a link to begin a search in one of these databases.

For a tutorial in how to use one of these databases, see the box, lower right.

Further Reading

The Little Seagull Handbook

  • Searching Indexes and Databases for Periodicals
    pp. 88-89 
Content © Luther College Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166 Creative Commons License