Skip to main content

REL 120:Religion: Curse or Blessing?

REL 120: Religion: Curse or Blessing? Spring 2020. Wanda Deifelt

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

 

Searching the Library Catalog

Search Preus Library and beyond

Limit results to:
Advanced Search

Lightbulb icon

TIP: Limit to Luther

Worldcat, the library's catalog, searches not just Preus Library's resources, but also those of several thousand libraries around the world. To limit to just what we have access to here at Luther, use the Held By filter and select Luther College.

Other Book Sources

Searching Library Databases

Search Databases for Scholarly Articles

The databases below contain articles from scholarly journals as well as news and magazine sources. Listed here are subject-specific databases, as well as a few general databases to get you started in your searching.

Lightbulb icon

TIP:

A scholarly article is written by an academic or professional researcher and is published in a scholarly journal. Scholarly articles can present original research or summarize existing research in that scholar's field.

 

General Databases

Lightbulb icon

TIP: Full Text

As you're searching databases, you'll want to know if we have access to the full article. You may be able to apply a Full Text filter to your search. Otherwise, look for the words PDF Full Text, Linked Full Text, or View External Full Text - there are a few variations depending on the database. If there's no full text option, look for the phrase Request through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Newspapers & Current News

Choosing Sources

evaluate sourcesWhen choosing sources, consider:

  • Who
    • Who wrote it? What could their biases and affiliations be?
  • What
    • What kind of source is it? A book? A newspaper article?
    • What claims does the source make? What is its argument or thesis?
  • Where
    • Where was it published? In an encyclopedia? Online? What country?
  • When
    • When was it written? What time frame does it cover?
  • Why
    • Why did the author write it?
    • Why might it be useful to my own argument or research questions?
Content © Luther College Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166 Creative Commons License