Skip to main content

REL 303: Religious Pluralism in Latin America and the Caribbean

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

  • Tips for searching the library catalog
  • Suggested article databases and some tips for searching them
  • A few things to consider when choosing sources

 

Instructions for Finding Texts

Search for the last name of the author + the title of the work. Remove punctuation like semicolons, commas, and quotation marks.

If you don't find your work in the initial search results, in the left Refine This Search menu, change Sort by to Best Match.

For materials held by Preus Library, click the Place Hold button.

To have materials sent to Preus Library, click the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button.

Searching the Library Catalog

Search Preus Library and beyond

Limit results to:
Advanced Search

Lightbulb icon

TIP: Limit to Luther

Worldcat, the library's catalog, searches not just Preus Library's resources, but also those of several thousand libraries around the world. To limit to just what we have access to here at Luther, use the Held By filter and select Luther College.

Other Sources

Searching Library Databases

Search Databases for Scholarly Articles

The databases below contain articles from scholarly journals as well as news and magazine sources. Listed here are subject-specific databases, as well as a few general databases to get you started in your searching.

Lightbulb icon

TIP: Full Text

As you're searching databases, you'll want to know if we have access to the full article. You may be able to apply a Full Text filter to your search. Otherwise, look for the words PDF Full Text, Linked Full Text, or View External Full Text - there are a few variations depending on the database. If there's no full text option, look for the phrase Request through Interlibrary Loan.

Lightbulb icon

TIP: Interlibrary Loan

If you find a book, article, or other source that Preus Library doesn't own, submit an Interlibrary Loan request! A library that does have that resource can share it with us.

Look for a Request through Interlibrary Loan link in the catalog and in databases, and log in with your Norse Key. If you've never used ILL before, you'll have to set up your account first, but don't worry--it's quick and easy!

 

Newspapers & Current News

Choosing Sources

When choosing sources, consider:

  • Who
    • Who wrote it? What could their biases and affiliations be?
  • What
    • What kind of source is it? A book? A newspaper article?
    • What claims does the source make? What is its argument or thesis?
  • Where
    • Where was it published? In an encyclopedia? Online? What country?
  • When
    • When was it written? What time frame does it cover?
  • Why
    • Why did the author write it?
    • Why might it be useful to my own argument or research questions?
Content © Luther College Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166 Creative Commons License