COMS 132: Public Address
Newpaper & Current News Databases
These databases provide access to a variety of newspapers. Newspaper Source Plus also provides some transcript coverage from various news programs.
-
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, along with television and radio news transcripts.
-
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the New York Times online (1851-present). Includes international edition and Spanish and Chinese language editions. For full access and no monthly article limits, create an account using your Luther email address or register your account here: http://proxy.luther.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir. -
New York Times, Historical plus Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.
-
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text online for issues published 1984 – present. -
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 950 US news publications, including The Des Moines Register, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, & Washington Post. 1980-present.
News Magazines
Many news and opinion magazines are available through searching Academic Search Elite. Some of the titles available are Time, Newsweek, U.S. News, Economist, Nation, National Review, New Republic, Washington Monthly, New Statesman (British) and the Spectator (British).
-
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
TIP: Accessing library resources from off-campus
If you are trying to access resources in Preus Library's subscriptions while you are off campus, make sure you are going through the library catalog or a guide like this. Otherwise, you might hit a paywall. By going through the catalog or a guide, you will be prompted to log in with your Norse Key.
Preus Library Chat
Enter your name, email, and question below to get immediate online assistance. Someone at Preus Library will respond--never a chatbot. If the chat is currently closed, you can send an email and we will get back to you ASAP.
Subject Guide
