PAID 111 Section 12 - Peterson (Fall 2025)

This three-volume encyclopedia, abridged from a 30-volume set in Hebrew and with a foreword by Elie Wiesel, chronicles Jewish life before and during the Holocaust. Arranged alphabetically by town, thousands of entries explore centuries of Jewish life. Available as a print resource.

This second edition expands upon the first with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and more than 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant events, personalities, issues, and films and literature. Available as a print resource.

3 volume popular history of World War II and the Holocaust, interspersed with excerpts from historical documents, memoirs, etc., and accompanied by numerous photographs. Vol. 1 discusses, inter alia, the Nazi rise to power, the development of Nazi antisemitism, Nazi anti-Jewish policy in 1933-39, the anti-Jewish measures in occupied Poland, ghettoization, and the murder of Polish Jews. Dwells on the Warsaw ghetto and Jewish resistance. Discusses, also, the Nazi death camp system, focusing on Auschwitz. Reports on the fate of the Jews in the USSR, Denmark, the Netherlands, and France. Vol. 2 discusses rescue of Jews, the Nuremberg trials, and Holocaust remembrance. Vol. 3 contains biographies of 103 personalities, ca. 30 of them related to the history of the Holocaust. (From the Bibliography of the Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism).

Alphabetically arranged entries in the encyclopedia provide fresh and lengthy articles on such topics as antisemitism, historiography, Jewish women, memorials, and resistance. Available as both print and e-book.

Created by the Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the monumental 7-volume encyclopaedia that the present work inaugurates will make available - in one place for the first time - detailed information about the universe of camps, sub-camps, and ghettos established and operated by the Nazis - altogether some 20,000 sites, from Norway to North Africa and from France to Russia. Available in print and e-book format.

Presents alphabetical information on the ghettos established in Europe during the time of the Holocaust. Print resource.

This encyclopedia presents the lives and works of 128 writers whose contributions lend significant first-generation understanding to the Holocaust. Arranged by author, entries provide a biographical, bibliographical, and critical profile with emphasis on each author's experience with or response to the Holocaust and contributions to the literature. All entries offer a short list of selected works. Available as a print resource.

A comprehensive filmography, listing fictional narrative films in the first volume and documentary and propaganda films in the second. The films - listed alphabetically - were produced in many different countries. The work lists films made during World War II and after (including Nazi films). Each entry provides bibliographic information, a summary of the story, and a list of primary and secondary sources. Available as a print resource.

This encyclopedia offers an authoritative and comprehensive survey of the important writers and works that form the literature about the Holocaust and its consequences. The collection is alphabetically arranged and consists of high-quality biocritical essays on 309 writers who are first-, second-, and third-generation survivors or important thinkers and spokespersons on the Holocaust. Available in both print and as an e-book.