An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.
Subjects: history of the world from 1450 to present excluding the U.S. and Canada. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations published 1955 – present. Full text for over 349 journals, and 120 books.
Includes sections on The four voyages of Columbus, The Aztec Empire and its dominion, The Inca Empire and its dominion, Slave centers during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries among other topics.
Historical Atlas of Central America
Call Number: Atlas G1551.S1 H2 2003
Sections One and Two of the atlas review five centuries of territorial organization, demography, and culture. The remaining sections focus on the economic, political, and social issues specific to each century, beginning with the colonial period and continuing to the present day.
See pages 88-93 for information related to your topic.
These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
Choose a 30-minute time slot to meet with your class librarian.
If you are not available at any of these times, or if there are no open slots when you are available, you may also talk to a librarian at Research Help at the following times:
12:30 - 4:30 PM
7:00 - 9:30 PM
“This set spans the centuries from the earliest civilizations of the Olmec, Maya, and Chavin to the present day. The region is broadly defined to include South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the historical Spanish borderlands north of the Rio Grande. The set emphasizes political, economic, and social history, yet does not overlook those elements of material and popular culture that have affected the history of Latin America."
This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
Topics covered in this volume:
* Economic and Social Structures: Spanish America
* Economic and Social Structures: Brazil
* Intellectual and Cultural Life
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Call Number: Ref F1218.6 .O95 2001 v.1-3
This three-volume work has 617 lengthy articles addressing biographies, general contextual essays, and very specific topics. Each article is signed. The geographic area covered includes Mexico through southern Mesoamerica. The encyclopedia also incorporates many illustrations. The bibliographies attached to each entry include titles in Spanish as well as English and are often annotated. It also has a very detailed index.
The essays in this encyclopedia are signed by authorities in the field. They cover the usual controversies surrounding Columbus: spirituality of enterprise versus materialism; the voyage routes; landfall; his prior knowledge of routes and maps. In addition, there are numerous maps and documents facsimiles.
Conflict in the Early Americas
Call Number: Ref E123 .C729 2013
This detailed study is the only reference work of its kind to address Spain's conquest of Central and South America, providing in-depth coverage of native and European ideologies, political motivations, and cultural practices of the region.
This encyclopedia contains over 2400 entries with subject entries ranging from the labor movement and women's suffrage to music about the region. Entries are extensively cross-referenced and most articles provide bibliographic citations. Over 600 illustrations and maps complement the text. Also contains an index that provides a comprehensive list of every person mentioned in the encyclopedia.
Over four hundred signed articles discussing Western colonialism cover such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions, scientific and cultural practices, and wars and conflicts.
The entries cover topics on the doctrine, organization, and history of Christianity over the centuries, it includes information about persons, institutions, cultural phenomena, religions, philosophies, scientific developments, and social movements that have affected the Catholic Church from within and without. The last volume has a comprehensive index, tables, and auxiliary material. Consult the index (Vol. 15) for specific topics.
If the above resources aren't right for your topic, try searching in our general resource databases:
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects
Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. //
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.
Complete full text on microfilm of New York Daily Times (1851 – 1857) and New York Times (1857 – 2001): AN2 .N42. Because of freelance licensing restrictions, full text is available from 1996 – present only at the New York Times website for the New York Times Book Review.
Full text online for issues published 1984 – present. Online database returns results from Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, NY Times, and Washington Post, along with WSJ. Complete full text on microfilm (1972 – 2001): AN2 .W2
This book offers readings of Colombian telenovelas, a Brazilian historical telenovela, and Mexican narco-drama films. It shows how telenovelas and narco-dramas serve to unite peoples of various countries and provide a voice of rebellion against oppressive governmental systems.
Race and ethnic identities are increasingly salient in Latin America. Peter Wade examines changing perspectives on Black and Indian populations in the region, tracing similarities and differences in the way these peoples have been seen by academics and national elites.