FCUL 185: Nordic Myths and Tales

This encyclopedia covers every aspect of Scandinavia during the Middle Ages, including rulers and saints, overviews of the countries, religion, education, politics and law, culture and material life, history, literature, and art.

This Historical Dictionary of the Vikings provides information on major historical figures, important battles and treaties, key works, and archaeological finds. This dictionary not only presents the big picture, but also examines the everyday aspects of how people lived and worked.

Coverage includes the first Viking settlements; Norse society; populations, war and pestilence; Norse mythology; Viking ships; exploration of the northern sea (Iceland, Erik the Red, and the evidence for Viking settlement in America); the Viking warrior (berserks, arms and armor, the battle of Contarf, and battles at sea); Norse colonization; and the last of the Vikings.

This book book provides biographies of the leading personalities of the Viking Age, both the Vikings themselves & those who opposed them, while maps & entries of the Vikings' key cities, towns, & villages reflect the vast extent of their world.

- Online edition also available

This volume contains articles on various aspects of life in the Middle Ages, from A.D. 500 to 1500 and covering a geographic area including the Latin West, the Slavic world, Asia Minor, the lands of the caliphate in the East, and the Muslim-Christian areas of North Africa.

- Online edition also available