These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
A selection of the memoirs, journals, letter, reports and images that went into the making of the PBS series The West.
History by Era
"History by Era" is the Gilder Lehrman Institute's gateway to American History. Each of the ten Eras is divided into thematic Sub-eras.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collection; view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836 - 1922 or use the US Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.
Center of the West
The Buffalo Bill Center of the West, formerly known as the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, is a complex of five museums and a research library featuring art and artifacts of the American West. The museum showcases the fame and success Cody attained through his "Buffalo Bill's Wild West show", and addresses his significant influence on the economic and cultural development of the American West.
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
More than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. This collection focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.