Skip to main content
In general, items listed on this Paideia guide and other subject/course guides created by the library are considered "Preus Certified", which means they are a good place to begin your research.
General Reference Sources
These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
Return to 2016 Paideia 112 Research Guide
Europe since 1914
Call Number: Ref D424 .E94 2006
Europe Since 1914 details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world.
- Online edition also available
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Call Number: Ref HC15 .O94 2003, vol. 1-5
Entries cover such topics as economic concepts; markets and industries; economic development in various countries; biographical essays on key people in economics and business; business products, including coffee, gas, and oil; and the economic aspects of historical events and time periods.
World War II
Call Number: Ref D740 .E516 2016 v. 1-5
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Covers every important battle and weapons system; every involved nation and significant geographic location; and every political, military, and civilian leader around the world who played a significant role in the war's onset, course, and aftermath.
World War II in Europe
Call Number: Ref D740 .W67 1999
Offers a focused overview of World War II the circumstances that led up to war, the underlying causes, its unfolding and consequences.
The Encyclopedia of the Cold War
Call Number: Ref D840 .E63 2008
Provides information on military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more.
The Film Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2012
Features alphabetically organized entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of movies, including style, genres, actors and actresses, directors, producers, and motion picture studios.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: Ref HM856 .E53 2007 v.1-5
Topics covered in the encyclopedia are socio-environmental ones. Includes an appendix of the United Nations main environmental indicators for water, air pollution, climate change, waste, and land use.
Historical Dictionary of Scandinavian Cinema
Call Number: PN1993.5.S2 H57 2012
Includes entries on major actors, directors and others, significant films, various genres and themes, and subjects such as animation, ethnicity, migration and censorship.
The library has a series of Historical Dictionaries for countries of the world. These sources are very useful for timelines of historical events, important figures and dates, and brief historical summaries.
Content © Luther College
Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166