Browsing to Discover
In the Reference area, specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias can be identified
by browsing in the areas outlined below. The General Collection can also be
browsed using these areas of the Library of Congress Classification System.
GC – Oceanography. Includes seawater, dynamics of the sea, marine sediments,
marine resources and marine pollution.
QH – Natural history and General Biology. Includes nature conservation,
microscopy, general biology, genetics, reproduction, ecology, and cytology.
QK – Botany. Includes plant anatomy, physiology, and ecology.
QL – Zoology. Includes animal behavior and psychology, anatomy, embryology,
and wildlife conservation.
QM – Human Anatomy. Includes human embryology.
QP – Physiology. Includes neurophysiology, neuropsychology, animal
biochemistry, experimental pharmacology.
QR – Microbiology. Includes bacteria, immunology, and virology.
RA- Public Aspects of Medicine. Includes public health, hygiene and preventive
RC – Internal Medicine. Includes the practice of medicine such as diagnosis,
individual diseases, first aid, neurology and psychiatry, geriatrics, arctic and
tropical medicine and sports medicine.
RD – Surgery. Includes wounds and injuries and orthopedics.
RE-RL – Ophthalmology, gynecology, and obstetrics, pediatrics, dentistry, and
RM – Therapeutics and Pharmacology. Includes diet therapy, diet and dietetics
in disease, immunotherapy, endocrinology, drugs, and physical therapy.
SB – Plant Culture. Includes seeds, propagation, horticulture, gardening,
diseases and pests.
SD – Forestry. Includes conservation and protection, forest policy.
SF – Animal Culture. Includes housing, feeds and feeding, animal nutrition,
breeds and breeding, cattle, horses, sheep, goats, swine, furbearing animals,
lab animals, pets, birds, insects, veterinary medicine.
SH – Aquaculture. Includes fisheries, marine resources conservation.
SK – Hunting. Includes wildlife management and game protection.
TD – Environmental Technology. Includes water quality and pollution.
TX – Home Economics. Includes nutrition, foods and food supply.