Skip to main content
About This Page
The resources on this page are Preus-Certified as great places to start for research in Anthropology.
Additional and more advanced resources are available from other tabs of this
Online Reference Sources
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Also available in print: Ref CC70 .C59 1999
The work explores the theory and methodologies of archaeology, cross cultural themes, and themes of archeological history.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Also available in print. Ref CC 70 .O96 1996
Subjects covered include areas of the world, biograhies, artifact analysis, and the history and future of archaeology.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Revised edition of Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, published in 2010.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Also available in print: Ref GN 307 .E53 1991
Nine volumes of the set describe cultures of different regions of the world, volume 10 is an index to the set. Cultural summaries usually provide the culture name, alternative names, orientation, history and cultural relations, settlements, economy, kinship, marriage and family, sociopolitical organization, religion and expressive culture, and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Supplement
Also available in print: Ref GN 307 .E53 1991 Suppl
Published in 2002, this volume includes 100 additional articles to supplement the 10 volume set, Encyclopedia of World Cultures.
Start with Reference
Reference sources will help you narrow your research focus and will uncover keywords and concepts to use in your search.
Below is a representative list of print Reference sources (found on the main floor of the library) and links to online Reference sources.
Print Reference Sources
Search using the Reference tab in WorldCat to discover print reference sources.
Penguin Archaeology Guide
Ref CC 70 .P46 2001
"A guide to definitions and dates, to locations and achievements, to sites and cultures, to peoples and empires, and to the theories and methods of archaeology." - Preface
Archaeological Method and Theory
Ref CC 75 .A654 2000
Treats all aspects of archaeological work. Includes information about protective legislation of archaeological resources.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Ref CC 100 .E54 2001 v.1-3 Also available online.
These volumes cover themes in archaeology, sites, and some information on various countries. Extensive index is included.
21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook
Ref GN 25 .A144 2010
The study of anthropology spans biological anthropology, archeology, sociocultural anthropology, and linguistics. ““The 102 chapters …attest to the many research topics being investigated by current anthropologists and related scholars in science and philosophy.”
History of Physical Anthropology
Ref GN 50.3 .H57 1997
This 2 volume encyclopedic work provides international perspective of the history of physical anthropology. Biographical, subject, and national entries are followed by select bibliographies and many primary and secondary sources are noted.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Ref GN 307 .E52 1996
A 4 volume work, the encyclopedia covers nine general areas of interest, including sub-fields of the discipline, concepts and subjects, cultural regions, issues relating to the profession, linguistics, and other related items.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Ref GN 307 .E525 1996 Also available online.
A one volume work, it has 231 topical entries followed by a short section of biographical entries and a glossary of terms used in anthropology. The analytical table of contents
highlights the categories of entries: ethnographic surveys, history of anthropology, subdisciplines, anthropological concepts and methods, and anthropological objects.
Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts
Ref GN 316 .R37 2000
The work has sixty entries describing concepts that are used by anthropologists. The work contains cross-references, an index, and an extensive bibliography.
General Online Reference Sources
- Research Help Chat Offline
Content © Luther College
Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166