Guides: Anthropology: Find Articles and Key Resources

Scholarly Databases

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
The premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge through a portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage from 1993 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for journals, books,and conference papers for subjects relating to sociology. Contains full text for over 700 journals, nearly 800 monographs, and over 9,000 conference papers

eHRAF

eHRAF World Cultures (formerly eHRAF Collection of Ethnography) This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Covers cultures from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America. Full text. Includes citations for recent books, articles, and dissertations.

Select Journals

Annual Review of Anthropology
Covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Human Organization: Journal of the Society for Applied Anthropology
Human Organization publishes articles dealing with all areas of applied social science. In addition to those reporting on original research, the journal publishes articles detailing innovative methodological and engaged research practices.

Search WorldCat Discovery

Library of Congress Classification System

Preus Library classifies its print collection using the Library of Congress Classification System. The areas listed below are good places to browse to discover items that pertain to anthropology and archaeology. There may be other items of interest in the collection that are found outside of these call number ranges. Check the catalog to discover call numbers for specific items.

CC 1-960 Archaeology

E 75-99 Indians of North America

99 Indian Tribes and Culture

GN 1-890 Anthropology

49-298 Physical anthropology

301-673 Ethnology

700-890 Prehistoric archaeology

GR 1-950 Folklore

72-79 Folk literature (General)

420-950 Folklore relating to special subjects

430-488 Folklore relating to private life

500-615 Supernatural beings

880 Medicine. Folk medicine

GT 1-7070 Manners and customs (General)

For works limited to special countries, see D-F

Anthropology

Subject Guide

Get In Touch

Information & Research Help:

Find us on:

On this page

Key resources at a glance:

Scholarly Databases

eHRAF

Select Journals

Search WorldCat Discovery

Search Preus Library and beyond

Library of Congress Classification System

Anthropology

​Information & Research Help:

Find us on:

On this page

Key resources at a glance:

Scholarly Databases

eHRAF

Select Journals

Search WorldCat Discovery

Search Preus Library and beyond

Library of Congress Classification System

Information & Research Help: