An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
Over 72,000 articles from the encyclopedia and Britannica Book of the Year. Over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, flags and more. Includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary with over 75,000 definitions and pronunciation guides. Continuously revised.
Start with Reference
Reference sources can provide information about the topic and lead to concepts and keywords to use in your research.
Representative print and online reference sources for the discipline of Communication Studies are listed below. Print reference sources are located on the main floor of Preus Library.
Ref P 87.5 .E496 2009 The 2 volume work provides a source for information about theories and theoretical concepts in the field of communication theory. Includes entries encompassing the diverse aspects of communication theory. In addition to the entries, a helpful chronology is included that lists the major events in the history of communication theory.
Ref PN 1782 .E52 2001 The encyclopedia provides entries on historical and current perspectives on rhetoric. Entries on people are not included. A Synoptic Outline of Contents is located at the end of the volume.
Ref PN 1992.18 .E53 2004 The Museum of Broadcast Communications is responsible for this 4 volume set on many aspects of television. Included are entries on personalities, programs, technology, genres, and events.
Ref QA 76.575 .E5368 2003
There are 12 basic categories represented in the one volume encyclopedia: art, music, and performance; business and commerce; cyberculture, hacking; legal topics, networks and networking; open source software, organizations and labs, people; social issues, technology, and writing.