Provides biographical details on thousands of modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Includes current writers as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century and authors from around the world.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the UK and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes accounts of individual authors and histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
Twayne's is devoted to literary critical interpretation and discussion. It offers in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, including close analysis of key works. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.
Here is a representative list of reference works. Search World Cat or browse the Reference area for additional titles.
Bibliography of articles on British prose fiction works, arranged alphabetically by author and title. Useful for finding explications of British fiction from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Main Stacks PR861 .B38 1997
Consult the contents for the alphabetical list of biographies on women writers who contributed to the Harlem Renaissance. A selective bibliography accompanies each entry, with full bibliography at the end. Reference PF153 .N5 R65 1990