Skip to main content
About This Page
Web resources are freely available to anyone on the Internet.
The links listed here have been Preus-Certified for perspective and relevance.
- Research Help Chat Offline
Internet Resources of Interest
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Website of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
Free online access to over 2 decades of C-Span cable TV coverage. All programming that has aired on C-SPAN since 1987 (200,000 hours) is now available for viewing online. Many programs aired since 2003 have searchable text transcripts of the program’s closed captioning. Transcript text can be clicked on and the video will jump to that point.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell University)
An excellent collection of legal resources including links to the U.S. Constitution, Federal & State laws, the Supreme Court, the Code of Federal Regulations and much more.
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
Government Publications and Resources
U.S. Government Printing Office: Federal Digital System
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government
U.S. Department of State: Office of the Historian
Offers complete full text access to the Foreign Relations of the United States series as well as many other official documents. Clearly designed and easy to use.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
This site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 40,000 digital titles, free of charge! EPA’s print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA's digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database! You can search and retrieve, download, print and/or order only EPA publications from this site.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collections information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides data collected from the U.S. Census Bureau. Information about people and households, business and industry, geography, news, and special topics are gathered in this website.
Courts and Justices
Browse or search for U.S. legal code, legal opinions, and case law. Includes state and federal jurisdictions.
Researching Legal Opinions (Library of Congress)
A legal research guide from the Library of Congress, including information on where judicial opinions are published and how to read legal citations.
The Oyez Project
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
A freely available repository of court documents and dockets. Duplication of PACER content.
Content © Luther College
Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166