Reference sources will help you narrow your research focus and will uncover keywords and concepts to use in your search.
Below is a representative list of print Reference sources (found on the main floor of the library) and links to online Reference sources.
Print Reference Sources
Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject bibliographies can be helpful in choosing and narrowing a topic. Reading in the specialized reference materials introduces background information and can provide key concepts or keywords to use in your search.
Call Number: Ref HA214 .S746 2006 (also available online)
Narrative description and statistical tables in this volume explore social change in America in recent decades. Twelve chapters cover issues relating to social change, including population, families and households, labor force, housing, education, health, and more.
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
Over 72,000 articles from the encyclopedia and Britannica Book of the Year. Over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, flags and more. Includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary with over 75,000 definitions and pronunciation guides. Continuously revised.