Skip to main content
About This Page
Web resources are freely available to anyone on the Internet.
The links listed here have been Preus-Certified for perspective and relevance.
- Research Help Chat Offline
Archives Library Information Center US National Archives – historical documents.
American Women's History: A Research Guide
American Women's History – Citations and links to primary and secondary sources.
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
HEARTH (Cornell U.) electronic collection of scholarly resources (downloadable) in Home Economics from 1820. Extensive bibliographies.
National Women's History Museum
National Women's History Museum Cybermuseum
The Victorian Women Writers Project
The Victorian Women’s Writers Project- Transcriptions of works by 19th c.British women
Urban Experience In Chicago: Hull-House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963
Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull-House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963 – primary documents
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Women& Social Movements in the US 1620-2000. Editorial website. Offers access to selected materials on WASM and guidelines for prospective contributors.
International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Women's History from the International Institute of Social History – A database of full-text articles
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia | Jewish Women's Archive
Comprehensive source on the history of Jewish women and includes more than 1,700 biographies, 300 thematic essays, and 1,400 photographs and illustrations.
Selected Websites for Women and Gender Studies
These freely available websites are meant to be helpful to researchers in Womens and Gender Studies. They are not subscription-based article databases where one would find scholarly articles, but are carefully selected by the subject librarian in collaboration with faculty and are generally thought to be credible. However, please evaluate these for your purposes before using them.
Image from Bryn Maw'r "History of Women's Studies" http://serendip.brynmawr.edu/exchange/node/5856
ONE | National Gay & Lesbian Archives
The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,and Transgendered heritage and concerns. ONE is affiliated with but not governed by the University of Southern California.
British National Archives Gay and Lesbian History guide
Offers terms and research strategies for searching for historical records on LGBT history, especially within the UK National Archives.
Digital Transgender Archve
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
That's So Gay from The Library Company of Philadelphia
An exhibition of from the archives of the Library Company of Philadelphia
Queer Zine Archive Project
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
HERstories: Lesbian History Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.
Social Issues / Human Rights
Center for Reproductive Rights
Full-text publications, cases, legislative policy and statutes.
GenderIT.org is a project of the Women's Rights Programme of the Association for Progressive Communications
The site is meant to be a think tank OF and FOR women's rights, sexual rights and internet rights activists, academics, journalists and advocates from a range of disciplines and contexts.
USAID Women in Development (WID)
Documents from a U.S. government agency supporting long-term andequitable economic growth worldwide.
Women's Human Rights Resources
The Women's Human Rights Resources Programme (WHRR) collects, organizes and disseminates information on women's human rights law to facilitate research, teaching and cooperation. The information introduces women's human rights law in general, emphasizes selected international and Canadian topics, and explores the interconnections between domestic and international human rights law.
WomenWatch: UN Information and Resources on Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women
United Nations Inter-Agency Network
- provides information and resources on gender equality and empowerment of women.
United Nations Statistics Division - Demographic and Social Statistics
United Nations - Statistics covering population, family, health, education, work& politics
Gender Stats: database of gender statistics
Produced by The World Bank Group
United Nations Statistics Division - Gender Statistics
Gender Info 2007 is a global database of gender statistics and indicators on a wide range of policy areas, including: population, families, health, education, work, and political participation.
Woman Stats Project
The WomanStats Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. Contains qualitative and quantitative information on over 260 indicators of women's status in 174 countries.
Femina Web Search for Women
FeMiNA – created by Cybergirl Inc. provides a searchable directory of female friendly sites and information on the World Wide Web.
The FBomb.org is a blog/community created for teenage girls who care about their rights as women and want to be heard. Young feminists who are just a little bit pissed off and very outspoken are more than welcome here.
Basics of Ecofeminism, links to journals, bibliographies, conferences, groups and more
A Web site devoted to ecofeminism.
If you're new to ecofeminism, you'll find the entire site a good introduction to the subject. If you're already familiar with ecofeminism, please feel free to contribute articles, Web site links, activist information, or resources.
Women's Environment and Development Organization
At the core of WEDO’s mission is the recognition that women’s empowerment and gender equality are key levers of change.
Content © Luther College
Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166