Skip to main content
SIC and NAICS Codes
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) s a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. This was established in 1937 in the United States and used primarily by government agencies to classify industry areas.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) was established in 1997 to replace SIC codes, although some agencies and other information aggregators still use SIC codes.
Business Research Databases
You can look up industry information in Business Source Elite using NAICS codes.
Gale Business Insights: Essentials
Broad yet detailed coverage of international business, including timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis.
Industries & Professions Overview from Vault
Free content re: industry backgrounds, as well as related professions, industries, and companies. (Additional premium content is behind a paywall.)
GlobablEdge Industry Insights
International business-related resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 distinct industry sectors.
Directory of Business Information Resources
Call Number: Ref HF54.52.U5 D567 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-20
Complete coverage of 99 industries: Associations, newsletters, journals, trade shows, directories & databases
Government Information Resources
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industries at a Glance
Snapshot of national data (organized by NAICS) featuring information such as basic industry description, workforce statistics, and workplace trends.
Official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law. Features operational and performance data for 4 million businesses, including large, medium and small companies representing all U.S. locations and industries.
Industry research using the economic census : how to find it, how to use it
Helpful handbook on how to make sense of census data for industry research. (multi-user e-book)
Annual Survey of Manufacturers
The Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.
Monthly and Annual Retail Trade Survey
ARTS provides national estimates of total annual sales, e-commerce sales, end-of-year inventories, inventory-to-sales ratios, purchases, total operating expenses, inventories held outside the United States, gross margins, and end-of-year accounts receivable for retail businesses and annual sales, total operating expenses, and e-commerce sales for accommodation and food service firms located in the United States
Bureau of Economic Analysis: Industry Accounts
The industry economic accounts, presented both in an input-output framework and as annual output by each industry, provide a detailed view of the interrelationships between U.S. producers and users and the contribution to production across industries. These accounts are used extensively by policymakers and businesses to understand industry interactions, productivity trends, and the changing structure of the U.S. economy.
Content © Luther College
Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166