A collection of art images spanning many times and cultures, and including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design and other visual media. Use of Firefox or Safari browsers is recommended.
Extensive biographical information about over 200,000 American artists as well as book and periodical references, along with International artists' auction records and images. Complete access to information about the artists’ biographies, auction records, financial graphics, magazine ads pre-1998, and images.
Over 6,000 museums and dealers are also referenced.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Subjects: history of the world from 1450 to present excluding the U.S. and Canada. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations published 1955 – present. Full text for over 349 journals, and 120 books.
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Provides over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images. Art Index print volumes for 1929-1984 are in Index Area: N1 .A1
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.
Complete full text on microfilm of New York Daily Times (1851 – 1857) and New York Times (1857 – 2001): AN2 .N42. Because of freelance licensing restrictions, full text is available from 1996 – present only at the New York Times website for the New York Times Book Review.
Art Books in the Reference Collection
The items listed here represent the highlights of our reference collection. This is not a comprehensive list, so please search the catalog, browse the reference collection (print and electronic), or consult a librarian if you need more information.