An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
This 22 volume set provides an overview of Jewish life and knowledge and is available online and in print (call no. Reference DS 102.8 .E6 2007).
Topics range from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to “Americana” and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. A lengthy article on various aspects of the Holocaust is in volume 9. It includes an extensive chronology and photographs. The index can lead to numerous other related articles
Good background information on American culture during the period you are studying. See the articles “Women in the public sphere 1838-1877” on pp. 435+ and “Gender and political activism” on pp. 543+ in v. 1. Use the index in v. 3 to search for specific topics or people.
Each of the 16 sections in these volumes covers one of the major social movements in American history with an introduction; articles on the critical themes and events of the social movement(s); biographical portraits of key figures; excerpts from historical documents; references and illustrations.
This comprehensive encyclopedia details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas, examining the extensive Germanic cultural and political legacy in the nations of the New World and the equally substantial influence of the Americas on the Germanic nations.
Find books, DVDs, CDs, and print and online journal titles held by Preus Library, as well as links to articles and citations from databases such as Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Project Muse, America: History and Life, and Historical Abstracts.
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.
Comprehensive reference database of criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, author’s works, and reading lists. Includes MLA International Bibliography. Full text from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and selected journals.