An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.
Subjects: history of the world from 1450 to present excluding the U.S. and Canada. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations published 1955 – present. Full text for over 349 journals, and 120 books.
These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
A comprehensive encyclopedia of scholarly articles containing references to and lists of primary sources on the people, culture and events of the medieval world. The encyclopedia provides both in-depth articles and shorter definitions. It includes bibliographies and illustrations. Volume 13 is the index for all the volumes. Volume 14 is a supplement.
This encyclopedia with 435 alphabetical entries offers a global view of the Middle Ages from roughly 524 to 1495 C. Entries cover people, places, economics, literature, technology, industry, agriculture, religion, and much more. Each entry includes a bibliography; most include about five to ten books, articles, essays, and primary sources. Use the index to select appropriate topics.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook, located at Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies, contains primary source documents and provides links to other medieval sites. Click on “Select Resources” and “England” to start your search.
Nearly 4 million titles and over 6 million volumes digitized by major research libraries. Many of the titles are the ones digitized by the Google Books project but the collection also includes many non-Google titles. Intended for use by academic researchers.
This atlas traces a millennium of historical development ranging from the demise of the Roman Empire to the sixteenth century. Divided into three chronological parts, the volume covers political, religious, and cultural changes.