Keyword search and browse digitally archived copies of The College Chips, the school newspaper (1884-2015); The Pioneer, the annual yearbook (1911-2015); and The Agora, the faculty journal (1988-2015).
The Luther College History Wiki is a collaborative online resource about the history of Luther College in Decorah, Iowa. It is not a scholarly resource, but should be used for background information. For more information, please visit http://www.luthercollegehistory.org/wiki/Help:About
The Pastors of the Norwegian Lutheran Synods database was created with the data contained in the publication, Who's Who Among Pastors in All the Norwegian Lutheran Synods of America, 1843-1927 which was edited by O.M. Norlie and constituted one of the earliest comprehensive listings of Norwegian-American pastors.
These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.
An alphabetical arrangement of articles that are accompanied by bibliographies. Volume 9 contains maps and primary source documents. Volume 10 is an index for the set. The set does not include biographies.
This four-volume work is divided into four parts: immigration history, immigration issues, immigrant groups in America, and immigration documents. In addition to bibliographies at the end of each entry, this work includes an all-inclusive general index, an index based on geography, and an index based on legal and judicial subjects.
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Each article, specially commissioned for this book.
A three volume work which treats periods and process of social change as well as topics such as ethnicity, work and labor, popular culture, etc. Each article has its own bibliography. Use the Contents or the Index to find articles of interest.
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects
Over 72,000 articles from the encyclopedia and Britannica Book of the Year. Over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, flags and more. Includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary with over 75,000 definitions and pronunciation guides. Continuously revised.
The Atlas of American Higher Education presents dozens of maps on such topics as enrollment; students and faculty; cultural diversity; specialized institutions; two-year colleges; outcomes of higher education; student costs and student aid; and financing of higher education, as well as general background and summary chapters. It includes balanced coverage of both public and private, two- and four-year institutions. In addition to portraying educational data by state, the Atlas shows basic underlying demographic variables such as the distribution of population and ethnic groups, income, and urbanization.