An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Each of the first 10 volumes in this series covers a different period in American history with an alphabetical list of entries. A chronology of important events for that period, reprints of important documents, and an index specific to each volume are included. The last volume includes a comprehensive index.
Provides information on various elements of popular culture in the United States during the twentieth century, covering the major areas of film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, and art and performance. Includes time frame, category, and title indexes.
A guide to the 1960s, providing a brief overview of the decade; ten essays that examine some of the most significant issues of the era; alphabetically arranged entries that look at some of the most notable people, events, and movements of the sixties; relevant facts, figures, and opinions; a brief chronology; and an annotated bibliography.
This book provides information on a selection of nationally prominent activists from the 1960s and tracks their lives through the 1970s, 1980s, and into the 1990s. Entries provide individual origins, development, and possible source of activism. Included are the concepts of the individual's work, writings, or persona, and the critical responses to each.
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide biographical profiles of 647 men and women, primarily Americans, who made notable contributions to a variety of fields in the 1960s, and includes a cumulative occupations index, and alphabetical list of subjects.
This work covers the social, cultural, and political revolution of this era with entries covering groups such as the hippies, Diggers, Yippies, and Weathermen; individuals including Abbie Hoffman, Andy Warhol, Russell Means, and Stokely Carmichael; and events such as Watts, the Tripps festival, Woodstock, and various "be-ins."
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide definitions and explanations of words, people, places, and events associated with the 1960s and 1970s, and includes lists of events, groups, and leaders in various cultural movements.
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
This collection chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides access to over 1,000 titles of publications from feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.