ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.
Complete full text on microfilm of New York Daily Times (1851 – 1857) and New York Times (1857 – 2001): AN2 .N42. Because of freelance licensing restrictions, full text is available from 1996 – present only at the New York Times website for the New York Times Book Review.
Provides information about the Weimar Republic from a Jewish perspective.
Reference materials are the place to begin your research. Reading in specialized encyclopedias will anchor your research in an historical context and will give you the key terms and concepts to conduct successful database searches.
Print and Online Reference Books
Many, but not all, of the articles in the works listed below are included in the entry about the history of the country of Germany. In print sources it is wise to consult the Index and Table of Contents to find relevant entries. In electronic books, it is often possible to search for your term in the specific title. Look for the 'search this title' link on the page to search for relevant articles in the reference e-book.
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Subjects: history of the world from 1450 to present excluding the U.S. and Canada. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations published 1955 – present. Full text for over 349 journals, and 120 books.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.