An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Through Credo Reference people worldwide can gain access to any of a possible 3,264,948 entries, from 452 titles and 64 publishers. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world’s best publishers of reference.
Online version accessed at the library website linked to “Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Biography”. Lengthy articles on Anselm of Canterbury, St. Augustine, Roger Bacon. Bede, Alfred the Great, The Anglo-Saxon Chronicles, Beowulf, Chaucer, Geoffrey of Monmouth, John Gower, William Langland, Thomas Malory (King Arthur legend), King Arthur, etc.
Provides biographical information of over 17,400 people who have influenced United States history. Excludes living people. Includes over 2,000 illustrations, “more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites.”
These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
Covers every important battle and weapons system; every involved nation and significant geographic location; and every political, military, and civilian leader around the world who played a significant role in the war's onset, course, and aftermath.
Nearly 300 A-Z entries provide a glimpse into the subterranean world, events, people, and operations of the Cold War. Each entry is thoroughly cross-referenced and concludes with suggested readings. It also contains an extensive annotated chronology and is thoroughly indexed.
Over 300 entries, on the subject of terrorism worldwide. Appendixes include a chronology of terrorism from 1865 to the present, a list of web resources, an extensive bibliography, and maps noting the locations of terrorist activities around the world.
An excellent starting point for finding articles in magazines and journals, mostly from fairly recent time periods. Some full-text. Replaces Academic Search Complete.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences.
Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse provides full text access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage from 1993 - present.