Skip to main content
Online Reference Sources
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of over 3,000 reference works, covering all disciplines.
African American Alamnac
Publication Date: 2011
Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture. Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.
African American Literature
Publication Date: 2012
Places important topics in context so that readers will understand the connection between black history and the sweep of America's story. This volume covers African American literature.
American Law Yearbook
Publication Date: 2017
An annual supplement to the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law that updates and expands the content with new topics, updates, biographies of prominent figures and government appointees, and other features. Each year's edition contains the full U.S. Supreme Court docket in addition to the non-Supreme Court cases. Includes a glossary of legal terms.
Contemporary Black Biography
Publication Date: 2014
Provides biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Publication Date: 2006
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Publication Date: 2013
This work provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
Ripples of Hope
Publication Date: 2003
Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.
Print Reference Sources
Race relations in America : a reference guide with primary documents /
Call Number: E184.A1 D283 2006
Civil rights in the United States /
Call Number: E184.A1 C47 2000
Encyclopedia of African American history
Call Number: E185 .E545 2006
The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American civil rights : from emancipation to the twenty-first century /
Call Number: E185.61 .E54 2003
The African American national biography /
Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2008
American History, General
The Jacksonian and Antebellum Eras : Documents Decoded /
Call Number: E338 .V55 2017
The sixties in America /
Call Number: E841 .S55 1999
Slavery in the United States : a social, political, and historical encyclopedia /
Call Number: E441 .S635 2007
American decades /
Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994
The Greenwood guide to American popular culture /
Call Number: E169.1 .G7555 2002
50 events that shaped American Indian history : an encyclopedia of the American mosaic /
Call Number: E77 .A125 2017
African Americans and criminal justice : an encyclopedia /
Call Number: HV9950 .A356 2014
The use and abuse of police power in America : historical milestones and current controversies /
Call Number: HV7921 .U84 2017
Justices of the United States Supreme Court : their lives and major opinions /
Call Number: KF8744 .J87
African American Writers
Call Number: PS153.N5 A344 2001
Encyclopedia of African American women writers /
Call Number: PS153.N5 E49 2007
The Harlem Renaissance : a Gale critical companion /
Call Number: PS153.N5 H245 2003
Encyclopedia of rap and hip-hop culture /
Call Number: ML102.R27 B96 2006
The biographical encyclopedia of jazz /
Call Number: ML102.J3 F39 1999
Encyclopedia of the blues /
Call Number: ML102.B6 E53 2006
Icons of hip hop : an encyclopedia of the movement, music, and culture /
Call Number: ML394 .I26 2007
Content © Luther College
Library and Information Services, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166