Guides: PAID 112 Section 08: Travers (Spring 2024): Home

Introduction

These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.

Return to Paideia 112 Research Guide

Ethics & Social Issues

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
Call Number: Ref BJ63 .E44 2012 v.1-4
This four-volume encyclopedia has a broad reach, encompassing the various fields and endeavors in which ethical issues arise as well as the field of practical ethics itself and a variety of historical, contemporary, religious, and secular approaches.
Health and Medicine by Ross M. Mullner
Call Number: EBOOK
Sage Reference Series on Disability
Bioethics (e-book) by Bruce Jennings
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as new or revised entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. Previous editions published as the Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics
Call Number: Ref QH332 .O94 2007
Presents a guide to various issues in bioethics, covering 30 topics in original essays by some of the world's leading figures in the field. The essays in this work address both perennial issues, such as the methodology of bioethics, autonomy, justice, death, and moral status; and issues such as biobanking, stem cell research, and more.

Biology

Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy by Reinhard Putz; Reinhard Pabst
Call Number: Ref QM 25 .A7913 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
Historical Atlas of Immunology by Julius M. Cruse; Robert E. Lewis
Call Number: Ref QR 182 .C78 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-18

Medicine & Health Care

Mosby's Medical Dictionary by Mosby Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref R121 .M89 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-04
Medical Ethics by Laurence B. McCullough
Call Number: Ref R724 .M33 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-11
Debates on U. S. Health Care by Wendy E. Parmet (Editor); Mark A. Zezza (Editor); Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2012-09-27
Encyclopedia of Health Communication by Teresa L. Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref RA 423 .E528 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues by Joseph P. Byrne (Editor)
Call Number: Ref RA652 .E535 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-30
Medical Tourism by Kathy S. Stolley; Stephanie Watson
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
Magill's Medical Guide by Bryan C. Auday (General Editor); Michael A. Buratovich (General Editor)
Call Number: Ref RC41 .M34 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2012

Reference Collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000 reference works, covering all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Use the lower "Search Cambridge Histories" search box to find Luther-held content.

Research Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Replaced Academic OneFile in 2022.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage from 1993 - present.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations in the history of U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-text for over 225 journals, and 85 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: history of the world from 1450 to present excluding the U.S. and Canada. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations published 1955 – present. Full text for over 349 journals, and 120 books.

Newspapers

US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 950 US news publications, including The Des Moines Register, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, & Washington Post. 1980-present.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the New York Times online (1851-present). Includes international edition and Spanish and Chinese language editions. For full access and no monthly article limits, create an account using your Luther email address or register your account here: http://proxy.luther.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir.
New York Times, Historical plus Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.

Primary Source Collections

Visit the Preus Library Primary Source research guide to find a wide variety of collections, organized by time period and format:

Primary Sources at Preus Library