Available in print (2000 ed.) and electronic (2013 ed.) formats.
Provides information on various elements of popular culture in the United States during the twentieth century, covering the major areas of film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, and art and performance. Includes time frame, category, and title indexes.
An alphabetical arrangement of articles that are accompanied by bibliographies. Volume 9 contains maps and primary source documents. Volume 10 is an index for the set. The set does not include biographies.
Each of the first 10 volumes in this series covers a different period in American history with an alphabetical list of entries. A chronology of important events for that period, reprints of important documents, and an index specific to each volume are included. The last volume includes a comprehensive index.
Covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and their interconnectedness, this Encyclopedia also provides insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them.
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects
Complete full text on microfilm of New York Daily Times (1851 – 1857) and New York Times (1857 – 2001): AN2 .N42. Because of freelance licensing restrictions, full text is available from 1996 – present only at the New York Times website for the New York Times Book Review.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.