Skip to Main Content

PAID 112 Section 16: Thorne (Spring 2021)

World War II

On This Page

On this page, you'll find:

Research databases for finding articles
Library Catalog for finding books and articles
Tips for evaluating sources for your research

Research Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Replaced Academic OneFile in 2022.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations in the history of U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-text for over 225 journals, and 85 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: history of the world from 1450 to present excluding the U.S. and Canada. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations published 1955 – present. Full text for over 349 journals, and 120 books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage from 1993 - present.

Search WorldCat Discovery

Choosing Sources

When choosing sources, consider:

Who
- Who wrote it? What could their biases and affiliations be?
What
- What kind of source is it? A book? A newspaper article?
- What claims does the source make? What is its argument or thesis?
Where
- Where was it published? In an encyclopedia? Online? What country?
When
- When was it written? What time frame does it cover?
Why
- Why did the author write it?
- Why might it be useful to my own argument or research questions?

Content © Luther College Preus Library, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 (563) 387-1166

Creative Commons License

chat loading...