Guides: PAID 111 Section 13: Reed (Fall 2024): Getting Started with Reference Sources

Getting Started With Reference

Reference sources are a good starting point.

These materials can

Provide background information
Get you familiar with terms and keywords and related topics for a particular subject
Help you choose, broaden, or narrow a research topic

Preus Library has both print and online reference sources. For online reference sources, you can click the links in this guide or in the catalog and go directly to the material.

If you see a Call Number listed (example: PS3607.Y37 T73 2020), then the source exists as a physical copy. The print reference books are located near the Technology Help Desk on the main floor of the library, between the computer lab and the Writing Help Center.

Assigned Reference Sources

Find your Group # from among the tabs below:

Culture and religion of the Igbo and Hausa ethnic groups in Nigeria

Encyclopedia of Africa
Publication Date: 2010
Historical Dictionary of Nigeria
Publication Date: 2018

Benin masks, Nigerian food (divide topics among yourselves)

Africa: an Encyclopedia of Culture and Society [3 Volumes]
Call Number: Ref DT14 .A3415 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Available in print and online.
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
Call Number: Ref DT14 .A37435 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Reference (Main Floor)

Christian religions in Nigeria

Visas for Nigerian immigrants

Historical Dictionary of Nigeria
Publication Date: 2018
The Historical Dictionary of Nigeria: Second Edition introduces Nigeria’s rich and complex history. Readers will find a wealth of information on pre-20th century history, Nigeria under British colonial rule, and important post-independence issues while providing greater attention to Nigeria’s role in international relations, diaspora, and contributions to arts, film and culture in particular.
Nigerian Immigrants in the United States by Ezekiel Umo Ette
Publication Date: 2011

Nigerian immigrant experience in the U.S

Multicultural America
Publication Date: 2011
Nigerian Immigrants in the United States by Ezekiel Umo Ette
Publication Date: 2011

Other General Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000 reference works, covering all disciplines.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.