PAID 111 Section 05: T. Johnson (Fall 2021)

More than 350 alphabetically arranged entries fall into four categories: writers and literary works that use folklore as a resource or source; concepts that make it easier to look at folklore and literature together; themes and characters that originated in oral literature but are also found in written literature; and scholars who have studied and contributed to the field of folklore and literature.

Biographical/bibliographical/critical entries focusing on almost 300 novelists, authors in other fictional genres, and writers of works of nonfiction espousing a feminist viewpoint.

Contains approximately 370 alphabetically arranged entries covering the emergence of new ideas in literature, political thought, civil rights, racial pride, and the arts during New York City's Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s and 1930s.

Contains fifty-two alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about significant African-American authors, each with a biographical overview, a survey of principal writings, an assessment of the subject's work as a whole, and a bibliography; and includes three additional topical essays, and an index. Also available as an ebook (link in catalog record).

Profiles the most important figures of this cultural and intellectual movement. Also available as an ebook (link in catalog record).

Surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars.

This 3-volume set includes entries on the major topics, authors and works of the period complete with reprinted full text literary criticism.

The Oxford Companion to African American Literature provides the first comprehensive one-volume reference work devoted to this rich tradition, surveying the length and breadth of black literary history, focusing in particular on the lives and careers of more than 400 writers. Here, too, are general articles on the traditional literary genres, such as poetry, fiction, and drama; on genres of special import in African American letters, such as autobiography, slave narratives, Sunday school literature, and oratory; and on a wide spectrum of related topics, including journalism, the black periodical press, major libraries and research centers, religion, literary societies, women's clubs, and various publishing enterprises (also available as an ebook).

Chronicles the lives and works of 100 black women novelists, short-story writers, playwrights, poets, essayists, critics, historians, journalists, and editors writing in the United States between 1900 and 1945.

Includes more than 4,000 articles covering prominent African and African American individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, businesses, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, countries, and more.

Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed. Also available as an ebook (link in catalog record).

The African American National Biography will present history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day.

This 3 volume set highlights the writings, recordings, and visual works produced by countercultural movements to educate and incite action in all eras of U.S. history. The term "counterculture" refers to any intentional departure from conventional values and practices or the dominant lifestyles of the day.

An interdisciplinary look at the Harlem Renaissance, these volumes include essays on the principal participants, those who defined the political, intellectual and cultural milieu in which the Renaissance existed; and on important events and places. Also available as an ebook (link in catalog record).