Guides: PAID 111 Section 17: Mtisi (Fall 2022): Home

Your Texr

Not Either an Experimental Doll: the Separate Worlds of Three South African Women by Shula Marks (Editor)
Publication Date: 1987

How to Find Materials

Preus Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) system to shelve books, journals, DVDs, CDs, and other items. LC call numbers group library materials into subject categories, or classes; each class is identified by a letter. Classes are broken down into subclasses by adding more letters; subtopics within are identified by numbers.

Because library materials are organized by subject, if you’re headed to the stacks to find a book, take a minute to browse the shelves around the book, too. You’ll likely find more books on the same or similar topics!

How to read call numbers?

Reference Sources

Africa: an Encyclopedia of Culture and Society [3 Volumes]
Call Number: Ref DT14 .A3415 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Available in print and online.
This encyclopedia will provide readers with an overview of contemporary customs and life in North Africa and sub-Saharan Africa through discussions of key concepts and topics that touch everyday life among the nations' peoples.
Encyclopedia of South Africa by Krista Johnson (Editor); Sean Jacobs (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DT1714 .E53 2011
This authoritative, comprehensive reference work covers South Africa's history, government and politics, law, society and culture, economy and infrastructure, demography, environment, and more, from the era of human origins to the present.
Historical Dictionary of South Africa by Christopher C. Saunders; Nicholas Southey; Jon Woronoff (Foreword by)
Call Number: Ref DT1772 .S38 2000
This edition not only provides an update of the "new" South Africa, but expands on South Africa's complicated history as well, covering the period of British domination, problems with the Boers and the British, and the peopling of the region by Afrikaners.
The Cambridge History of South Africa, 1885-1994 by Robert Ross (Editor); Anne Kelk Mager (Editor); Bill Nasson (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
South Africa
Call Number: e-book
Examines the genocide and persecution of South African people, providing an historical background on Apartheid, a "separateness" of the races, beginning in 1948.
Africana
Call Number: Ref DT14 .A37435 2005
Includes entries on both Africa and the African American experience.
Colonialism by Melvin E. Page (Editor); James D. Ciment (Editor); Penny Sonnenberg
Call Number: Ref JV22 .C65 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-16
A comprehensive reference on colonialism focuses on the politics, economy, culture, and society of both colonizers and colonized, and features nearly 600 entries from an international team of academic experts, along with extensive chronologies of 15 modern empires.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Call Number: Ref JV22 .E535 2007
Available in print and online.
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Nigel Young (Editor)
Call Number: Ref JZ5533 .O95 2010
Available in print and online.

Reference Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000 reference works, covering all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Over 72,000 articles from the encyclopedia and Britannica Book of the Year. Over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, flags and more. Includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary with over 75,000 definitions and pronunciation guides. Continuously revised.

Librarian

Germano Streese

He / Him / His

Email Me

Contact:

Preus Library 217 / (563)387-2223

Subjects: Anthropology, Applied Leadership Studies, Classics, Counseling, Exercise Science, Global Health, International Business, International Studies, Law and Values, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Social Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Spanish