Guides: PAID 111 Guerci: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Fall 2024): Getting Started With Reference Sources

Getting Started With Reference Sources

In This Section:

An introduction to reference sources, print and online

Reference sources are a good starting point.

These materials can:

Provide background information
Get you familiar with terms and keywords and related topics for a particular subject
Help you choose, broaden, or narrow a research topic

Preus Library has print and online reference sources. The print reference books are located near the Technology Help Desk on the main floor of the library, near the Barry Writing Help Center. Below is a screenshot of how to search the catalog for print reference sources.

General Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000 reference works, covering all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Use the lower "Search Cambridge Histories" search box to find Luther-held content.