Resources

In This Guide

You'll find:

a number of different types of resources that will be helpful for completing the research project for REL 222 - Luther & Lutheranism.

Reference Sources highlights encyclopedias that contain introductory information that could be helpful for you to gain a better understanding of your topic.

Books & Articles notes how to browse the print collection and search the catalog to find information on your topic. Also, article databases, useful for finding secondary sources about your individual and their contributions, are linked.

Choosing & Evaluating Sources

When choosing sources, consider:

Who
- Who wrote it? What could their biases and affiliations be?
What
- What kind of source is it? A book? A newspaper article?
- What claims does the source make? What is its argument or thesis?
Where
- Where was it published? In an encyclopedia? Online? What country?
When
- When was it written? What time frame does it cover?
Why
- Why did the author write it?
- Why might it be useful to my own argument or research questions?

Luther's Works -- Primary Sources

Luther's Works - Standard English Edition
Call Number: BR330.E5 P3
Index to Luther's Works (American Edition)
This index lists all the works in the 82 volumes of the American edition of Luther's Works (LW).

The Annotated Luther - Volumes 1 - 6
Call Number: BR331 .E5 2015 v.1 - 6
Vol. 1: The Roots of Reform
Vol. 2: Word and Faith
Vol. 3: Church and sacraments
Vol. 4: Pastoral writings
Vol. 5: Christian life in the world
Vol. 6: The Interpretation of Scripture
Volumes are also available as ebooks.

The Annotated Luther Index
by Germano Streese Last Updated Jul 18, 2024 278 views this year

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation by Mark A. Lamport (Editor); Bruce Gordon (Foreword by); Martin E. Marty (Introduction by)
Call Number: Ref BR324 .E53 2017
ISBN: 9781442271586
Publication Date: 2017
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: Ref BR302.8 .O93 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Also available online.
The Oxford Handbook of Martin Luther's Theology by Robert Kolb (Editor); Irene Dingel (Editor); Lubomir Batka (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BR333.3 .O94 2014
ISBN: 9780199604708
Publication Date: 2014
Dictionary of Luther and the Lutheran Traditions
Call Number: Ref BX8007 .D53 2017
ISBN: 9780801049699
Publication Date: 2017
The Oxford Handbook of the Protestant Reformations by Ulinka Rublack (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BR301 .O94 2017
Publication Date: 2019
Martin Luther and the Reformation
Call Number: Reserve Desk - 2 hr. BR327 .M36 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Search WorldCat Discovery

Scholarly Articles

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, essays and book reviews published 1949 – present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Replaced Academic OneFile in 2022.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage from 1993 - present.

Journal of Lutheran Ethics - Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Online Sources

ELCA Resources
Select the appropriate area of interest to find links to several documents and resources. Also pay attention to the several "tabs" in each resource page.
The Lutheran World Federation - Department for Theology, Mission, and Justice
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod - Theology and Church Relations
Ecumenical Research
The site of the Institute for Ecumenical Research in Strasbourg, France, offers links to several documents that document the dialogues between Lutherans and other faith communities.