These resources have been selected as a place to get started with research in your section's topic. Preus Library has many more resources than this. If you cannot find something, please ask at the Research Help Desk or email the librarian working with your section.
Reference materials are the place to begin your research. Reading in specialized encyclopedias will anchor your research in an historical context and will give you the key terms and concepts to conduct successful database searches.
This five-volume set covers all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. This title provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives.
This collection presents 122 top-level Soviet, European and American records on the superpowers' role in the events of 1989. This volume offers a rare insider's look at the historic, world-transforming events that culminated in the end of the Cold War. Complementing the documents are the proceedings of face-to-face mutual interrogation of Russian and American former senior officials from 1998.
A comprehensive resource on the confrontation that became the first shooting war of the Cold War, the first limited conflict of the Atomic Age, and the war that led to a dramatic escalation of the national security state while foreshadowing U.S. involvement in Vietnam.
Contains a collection of documents alongside crafted, objective analysis of all the key events of the Cold War. This title presents analytical essays on the presidents and their roles during the Cold War from Harry Truman through George H W Bush, and over 150 important primary source documents with explanatory headnotes.
Provides in-depth interpretive essays, commissioned from foreign policy experts, explaining the concepts and historical trends that have guided and influenced American foreign policy throughout U.S. history.
A four-volume reference work examining the political, economic, military and cultural interactions of the federal government and the American people with other nations and peoples. More than 1,000 entries, ranging from biographical sketches to essays on major topics of U.S. foreign policy. Includes charts, graphs and maps.
The Historical Dictionary of U.S. Diplomacy during the Cold War history offers a definitive reference of this turbulent period through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography.
Nearly 300 A-Z entries provide a glimpse into the subterranean world, events, people, and operations of the Cold War. Each entry is thoroughly cross-referenced and concludes with suggested readings. It also contains an extensive annotated chronology and is thoroughly indexed.
Covers the Cold War period between the Western powers and the Communist bloc from the end of World War II through 1989. Includes discussion of the historic causes of the tension and information on the lives and actions of major figures, such as Harry Truman, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin.
Surveys East-West relations, in all their manifestations, from the Grand Alliance of the Second World War to the aftermath of the collapse of the Soviet Union in the 1990s. Though centered on the international policies of the USA and the USSR, the book throws light on almost every aspect of postwar international history.
Reference Sources on Society and Culture in the Cold War Era
Includes more than 3,036 signed essays, alphabetically arranged. Entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance.
This comprehensive Encyclopedia offers about 3,500 entries. Each of the volumes cover a different period in American history with an alphabetical list of entries. A chronology of important events for that period, reprints of important documents, and an index specific to each volume are included. The last volume includes a comprehensive index.
A three volume work which treats periods and process of social change as well as topics such as ethnicity, work and labor, popular culture, etc. Each article has its own bibliography. Use the Contents or the Index to find articles of interest.
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Use the lower "Search Cambridge Histories" search box to find Luther-held content.
This journal publishes historical literature on the Cold War era, its origins, impact on regions and alliances, the military, economy and social and intellectual growths. This collection includes articles published between 2000 and the present.
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.
This collection chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides access to over 1,000 titles of publications from feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 through 2013. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Additional Primary Source Collections
Visit the Preus Library Primary Source research guide to find a wide variety of collections, organized by time period and format:
A compilation of document types from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues chronicled include women's rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials.
Includes the CIA Research Reports from 1946-1976 and records collected by Raymond Murphy on Communism in China and Eastern Europe from 1917-1958, reporting on eight areas: Middle East; Soviet Union; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; China; Japan, Korea, and Asian security; Europe; Africa; and Latin America.
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Provides a comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements occurring between the 18th and 21th centuries.
Provided by the Woodrow Wilson Center, the site links to websites relating to the Cold War. In addition to links to museums, archives, and websites, new information, from new publications to news relating to the Cold war, is available from this site.
From Harvard University's Davis Center, this program promotes archival research in former East-bloc countries and seeks to expand and enrich what is known about Cold War events and themes. The site includes links to an archive of primary documents, and other resources.
"The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)."