Getting Started - BIO 139 - Strand - Guides at Luther College

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 600 full-text reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000 reference works, covering all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This online source provides access to subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press. In addition to text, access is provided to maps and illustrations, timelines, web sites, and bibliographies.

Cancer
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2016
Over 900 essays on all aspects of cancer for all nonspecialist interest groups.
Magill's Medical Guide by Bryan C. Auday (General Editor); Michael A. Buratovich (General Editor)
Call Number: Ref RC41 .M34 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-01

Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
Call Number: Ref T11 .S386 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-07

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Find books, DVDs, CDs, and print and online journal titles held by Preus Library, as well as links to articles and citations from databases such as Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Project Muse, America: History and Life, and Historical Abstracts.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Replaced Academic OneFile in 2022.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage from 1993 - present.

Biological Abstracts (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journal articles in biology and all other life sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly articles in biomedicine, health, dentistry, nursing, and other life sciences. Includes MEDLINE plus additional citations, some full-text. Coverage: 1966 – present.

Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database is a rich collection of consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Full text for some articles.
Health Source: Nursing and Academic (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly articles covering many medical disciplines, with particular focus on nursing and allied health. Also included is the AHFS Consumer Medication Information resource. Full text for some articles.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 80 peer-reviewed scholarly journals in biology, ecology, and environmental sciences. Covers the most recent two to five years. Most titles are also available for archived issues in JSTOR.
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts and full text (1995-present) for over 1100 journals in the Health & Life Sciences Collection. Provides citations and abstracts for all other Elsevier Science Direct journals.

US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 950 US news publications, including The Des Moines Register, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, & Washington Post. 1980-present.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the New York Times online (1851-present). Includes international edition and Spanish and Chinese language editions. For full access and no monthly article limits, create an account using your Luther email address or register your account here: http://proxy.luther.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir.
New York Times, Historical plus Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text online for issues published 1984 – present.