PAID 112 Section 16: Thorne (Spring 2021)

Part I examines the military cultures and strategic objectives of the eight major powers involved. Part II surveys the course of the war in its key theatres across the world, and assesses why one side or the other prevailed there. Part III considers, in a comparative way, key aspects of military activity, including planning, intelligence, and organization of troops and matérial, as well as guerrilla fighting and treatment of prisoners of war.

Part I examines the ideologies of the combatants and shows how the war can be understood as a struggle of words, ideas and values with the rival powers expressing divergent claims to justice and controlling news from the front in order to sustain moral and influence international opinion. Part II looks at politics from the perspective of pre-war and wartime diplomacy as well as examining the way in which neutrals were treated and behaved. The volume concludes by assessing the impact of states, politics and ideology on the fate of individuals as occupied and liberated peoples, collaborators and resistors, and as British and French colonial subjects.

Volume 3 adopts a transnational approach to offer a comprehensive and global analysis of the war as an economic, social and cultural event. Across twenty-eight chapters and four key parts, the volume addresses complex themes such as the political economy of industrial war, the social practices of war, the moral economy of war and peace and the repercussions of catastrophic destruction. The volume concludes by considering the lasting impact of the conflict and the memory of war across different cultures of commemoration.

The Historical Dictionary of U.S. Diplomacy from World War I through World War II relates the events of this crucial period in U.S. history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on key persons, places, events, institutions, and organizations.

Alphabetically arranged entries in the encyclopedia provide fresh and lengthy articles on such topics as antisemitism, historiography, Jewish women, memorials, and resistance.

Written by more than 140 specialist contributors from Italy, Germany, and Japan, as well as the Allied nations, the Companion provides unique world-wide coverage of the subject. Every aspect of the war is covered including, detailed surveys of major countries; politics and grand strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence services; campaigns, battles, and military operations; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; and slogans and phrases.

Marshalling the latest information and insights into this epic conflict, World War II at Sea: An Encyclopedia will enable students and other interested readers to explore specific naval engagements, while also charting the transformation of naval history through innovations in ordnance. In treating the naval aspects of World War II, this two-volume ready reference enhances the understanding of a part of the war that is often overshadowed by the fighting on land and in the air. The encyclopedia focuses on the events, individuals, organizations, and ideas that shaped the world's navies during World War II, as well as the resultant battles that changed naval history. It also covers the numerous innovations that occurred during the conflict and shows how strategies evolved and were executed.

Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.

3 volume popular history of World War II and the Holocaust, interspersed with excerpts from historical documents, memoirs, etc., and accompanied by numerous photographs. Vol. 1 discusses, inter alia, the Nazi rise to power, the development of Nazi antisemitism, Nazi anti-Jewish policy in 1933-39, the anti-Jewish measures in occupied Poland, ghettoization, and the murder of Polish Jews. Dwells on the Warsaw ghetto and Jewish resistance. Discusses, also, the Nazi death camp system, focusing on Auschwitz. Reports on the fate of the Jews in the USSR, Denmark, the Netherlands, and France. Vol. 2 discusses rescue of Jews, the Nuremberg trials, and Holocaust remembrance. Vol. 3 contains biographies of 103 personalities, ca. 30 of them related to the history of the Holocaust. (From the Bibliography of the Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism).

Survey of World War II with statistics of the 26 major nations that participated in the fighting, including orders of battle and war production.

This encyclopedia represents a single source of authoritative information on World War II that provides accessible coverage of the causes, course, and consequences of the war. Its introductory overview essays and cross-referenced AZ entries explain how various sources of friction culminated in a second worldwide conflict, document the events of the war and why individual battles were won and lost, and identify numerous ways the war has permanently changed the world. Coverage addresses the individuals, campaigns, battles, key weapons systems, strategic decisions, and technological developments of the conflict, as well as the diplomatic, economic, and cultural aspects of World War II. The lengthy documents volume represents a valuable repository of additional information for student research.

Volume 1: Topics A-D, Volume 2: Topics E-L, Volume 3: Topics M-S, Volume 4: Topics T-Z, Volume 5: Documents

2 volumes with more than 1,300 entries by 150 experts are arranged in six sections for easy reference and consultation. All the key ideas, events, actions, weapons, individuals, and organizations that played vital roles in the war are covered, from the Axis Pact to the Arab League, from the OSS to the Afrika Korps, from the Chetniks to the Jedburghs, from the battle of Kursk to Operation Mincemeat, from Bill Donovan to Otto Skorzeny, from Gestapo to SMERSH, from Georgi Zhukov to Jean Leclerc, from the 88 gun to the Norden Bombsight. Includes maps, photographs, and weapons and data tables enhance the coverage.

Section 1: Social and Political Issues and Events Section 2: Leaders and Individuals Section 3: Units and Organizations Section 4: Weapons and Equipment Section 5: Strategy, Tactics, and Operational Techniques Section 6: Battles, Campaigns, and Operations