Guides: IDS 260: Finding Scholarly Resources

Super Searching

Search a specific site using site: [ ex. site:nytimes.com ]

Use the Twitter advanced search features

FOLLOW THE LINKS to find more other (perhaps more authoritative?) resources.

New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the New York Times online (1851-present). Includes international edition and Spanish and Chinese language editions. For full access and no monthly article limits, create an account using your Luther email address or register your account here: http://proxy.luther.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir.

Bitch Magazine
Bitch Media's Mission is to provide and encourage an engaged, thoughtful feminist response to media and popular culture.
Jezebel
site:jezebel.com
Feministing
site:http://feministing.com/
The Atlantic
in library database
Vogue Magazine
site:vogue.com

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for over 400 journals, many indexed back to the first issue ranging from 1919 – present. Full text for some articles.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for research across a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Replaced Academic OneFile in 2022.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of over 3,400 major scholarly journals and over 100,000 scholarly monographs. The digitized archive includes the first issue published for each journal (some are from 1665 to the present); but excludes the most recent 2 to 5 years for most journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to over 380 journals and over 13,000 scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. Managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage from 1993 - present.

The Oxford encyclopedia of LGBT politics and policy
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2021
Reviews and interprets a broad array of social science and humanities research on LGBT people, politics, and public policy around the world. The articles are organized around six major themes of the study of identity politics, with a focus on movement politics, public attitudes, political institutions, elections, and the broader context of political theory.
Encyclopedia of the Yoruba by Toyin Falola (Editor); Akintunde Akinyemi (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780253021564
Publication Date: 2016-06-20
The Yoruba people today number more than 30 million strong, with significant numbers in the United States, Nigeria, Europe, and Brazil. This landmark reference work emphasizes Yoruba history, geography and demography, language and linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and art. The 285 entries include biographies of prominent Yoruba figures, artists, and authors; the histories of political institutions; and the impact of technology and media, urban living, and contemporary culture on Yoruba people worldwide.