The library staff provide many resources and services in support of your research, student learning, and the curriculum.
For the library liaison assigned to your department, please see our liaison listing.
For library building hours, please see our posted hours.
Faculty and staff are able to check out most materials through the end of the semester. However, “leisure reading” (mostly fiction) checks out for two weeks. Faculty and staff may renew materials online by logging into their library account.
In addition to assisting with research questions, librarians are available for scheduled appointments, targeted library instruction for a class, and even research assignment revision (to reflect updated online resources).
Our chat service is conveniently available via the Preus Library Chat pop-up throughout the library’s website.
You may wish to submit lengthier research questions through our webform. See Ask a Librarian for more information.
A search in our catalog, WorldCat, will include Luther College’s large collection, extending beyond library books and e-journal subscriptions to access to thousands of eBooks, primary documents, newspapers, and streaming videos.
WorldCat results serve as a tool for requesting interlibrary loan as well, since our results integrate with Iowa libraries and beyond.
Preus subscribes to numerous research databases. Searching databases directly provides you with the most targeted results and advanced search options.
We have developed targeted research guides to help faculty and students. New guides and guide revisions may be developed on request.
When you have particular journals in mind, the JOURNALS tab above the WorldCat Search will bring you to our Journals holdings information. You may search for a specific journal title here or browse by title keywords. Select a title to view in which database and for which years the full text articles can be accessed. [If a journal of particular importance to your curriculum is not listed here, please use our Suggest a Purchase form to request. We also have Interlibrary Loan to cover additional research interests.]
Librarians are often able to find alternative ways to access articles that are locked with a price tag in Google Scholar. (And when not, we refer you to Interlibrary Loan and/or Suggest a Purchase.)
If you frequently use Google Scholar, we encourage you to connect it to Preus Library on your computer so that our full-text holdings will be linked within your search results. To do so, go to Google Scholar Settings – Library Links – Luther College – Save.
As you likely realize, you may end up with results that either do not immediately appear in full-text, or we do not own in full-text. You may see a notation “FULL TEXT LINKS” and need to select the button Find @ Preus to see if our system can reconcile online access. If it is unable to find access, it leads you to an option “Request from Another Library”. This link starts an interlibrary loan process for you – check the information and click “Submit request”.
The library offers assistance in providing access to readings and other materials (sound recordings, videos, etc.) that support the instructional requirements for specific courses. This is done through the KATIE learning management system and physical reserves. See our Reserves page for more information.
If you are interested in exploring a growing trend to find free (open) or affordable readings for your courses in lieu of an expensive textbook, we are ready to assist you in identifying options. Please reach out for an appointment with Emily Mineart or browse our guide to Open Educational Resources.
